Professor Barbara Ransby selected for ASA Award

The Angela Y. Davis Award for Public Scholarship recognizes scholars who have applied or used their scholarship for the “public good.” This includes work that explicitly aims to educate the lay public, influence policies, or in other ways seeks to address inequalities in imaginative, practical, and applicable forms. The 2018 prizewinner is Barbara Ransby, University of Illinois at Chicago. According to the committee, “while we were all familiar with Dr. Ransby’s important contributions, it was both impressive and inspiring to read such glowing testimonials from so many colleagues. What emerges is a compelling picture of a brilliant and courageous career devoted to social justice.  Our expectations for the Davis Prize are extremely high and it is thus not awarded every year.  But this year our expectations were exceeded, and we are excited to name you the winner."